Johnson County

Troy began his career in Public Safety at the age of 17 when he obtained his Emergency Medical Technician-Basic (EMT-B) certification. Troy holds multiple certifications along with experience in Fire/Rescue, Emergency Medical Services (EMS), Law Enforcement, Death Investigation (Manner & Cause Determination), as well as Emergency Management; specifically certification as a Missouri Certified Emergency Manager (MoCEM). Currently Troy serves as a Volunteer Firefighter with Johnson County Fire Protection District, Paramedic with Johnson County Ambulance District, Deputy Coroner with Johnson County Coroner's Office as well as a member of the State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA) Missouri-1 Disaster Medical Assistance Team (DMAT) and Disaster Mortuary Operations Response Team. Troy began his duties as Chief Deputy Director of Johnson County Emergency Management on June 1st, 2017 and was promoted to the role of Emergency Management Director on March 15th, 2018.

Learn more about us!

Our Mission

A Johnson County a court order was signed January 19th, 1989 by Presiding Commissioner, Ray Maring, hereby creating within and for the territory of Johnson County Missouri an Emergency Management organization functioning in accordance with RSMo Chapter 44.

Our office is responsible for all unincorporated areas of Johnson County, although we work very closely with the cities of Warrensburg, Holden, Centerview, Chilhowee, Kingsville, Leeton and Knob Noster as well as Whiteman Air Force Base.

Our office is served by three full-time employees, with salaries and benefits being partially funded via the federal Emergency Management Performance Grant (EMPG); along with one part-time employee via the AARP Foundation and approximately thirty-five volunteers.

To email individual EMA personnel, simply click their name!

Tandra has served in a role with Western Missouri Medical Center since June 2015 assisting with their Emergency Management program for the Hospital and has been an active member of the Johnson County Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) and an invaluable Liaison between WMMC and Johnson County EMA. Tandra served eight years as an active duty member in the United States Air Force and is currently serving in a Reserve capacity as a Security Forces Airman. She has a Bachelor of Science in Human Resources Management and Services and is working towards her Masters in Emergency and Disaster Management and Homeland Security. Tandra’s duties include serving as our Community Emergency Response Team (CERT) and Volunteer Coordinator. Tandra was promoted to Chief Deputy Director on March 15th, 2018. 

Our Administrative Assistant position is provided via the AARP Foundation's Senior Community Service Employment Program (SCSEP). 

Cary joins our EMA team with 46 years of ham radio experience and several decades of volunteer experience in the local communities I have lived in.  For 18 years Cary was one of two ARES Emergency Coordinator for Jackson County, Missouri and now am one of the local volunteers in Johnson County.  Cary is a  volunteer with Johnson County Amateur Radio Emergency Services, Sky-warn, National Weather Service and has served as the President of the Warrensburg Area Amateur Radio Club, Inc. for 6 years at the end of his current term.

Cary Altman began his role in this position on 04/30/2018.

Brian graduated with his Bachelors of  Science in Crisis and Disaster Management from the University of Central Missouri in May of 2018. Brian served as an Intern with Johnson County Emergency Management during his practicum for his Bachelors Degree program. 

Brian assumed his duties as Deputy Director and Household Hazardous Waste Coordinator on April 12th, 2018. 

​Emergency Management seeks to promote a safer, less vulnerable community with the capacity to cope with hazards and disasters.​

Our Vision 

​Johnson County Emergency Management protects our community by coordinating and integrating activities necessary to build, sustain, and improve the capability to mitigate against, prepare for, respond to and recover from threatened or actual natural disaster, acts of terrorism, or man-made disasters.​​

Cary Altman,  Administrative Assistant